Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Tilt and swing, front and rear

Tilt and swing, front and rear

Hello!

I am a 35mm photographer, and recently have gotten interested in black and white landscape photogrphy. After doing some searching, I have found that large format is generally recommended for this type of photography, mainly because of larger negatives and tilt/swing controls.

My dad has a crown graphic, which we've been having some fun with. I have one question though, which is how to use the tilt and/or swing controls and what they do.

Thanks, Ian

Howard Bond's article in "Photo Techniques" magazine (May/June 1998, pp. 41 -45) can be found in any library or by using the web address http://www.largeformatphotography.info/articles/bond-checklist.html. This is a simple yet effective article that will answer your questions. Many books on this subject are overkill, confusing and hard to understand.

Hi Ian, The Crown Graphic, like all Graflex press cameras, has no rear movements, and very limited front movements, which is just as well, because the standard lenses don't cover much more than the 4x5 format anyway. There are many resources for learning the basics of view camera movements, and the one cited above is probably as good as any. Good luck, and have fun.

As Jay said, the Graflex press cameras have limited front movement only but don't sell them short. They are capable of doing excellent work. One doesn't have to invest as much money to get started with one either. I got started in LF by borrowing a friend's and it just whetted my appetite to move on from there.

Thanks for the information everyone. Jay, when you said "the standard lenses don't cover much more than the 4x5 format anyway.", would a 135mm be considered standard?

Thanks agian, Ian