Thread: Airport X-Rays and precious film!

Airport X-Rays and precious film!

After a four year learning curve, I made the big plunge into LF (Wisner 4X5 Expe dition - likely the best wood field camera out there) and booked my 10 day vacat ion to San Fran/Yosemite/Wine Country.

I know there's a lot of information and opinions regarding airport x-rays and fi lm but any and all responses would be greatly appretiated. Let's suppose I'm a pro shooting a National Geographic spread on Italy. How do those guys/ladies by -pass the x-ray of their film at the international airports, especially during t hese times of terrorist bombing threats? Do they? I'd feel much more comfortab le if there's a stream of responses that assure me that my Velvia will suffer no streaking effects. Thanks to all who respond.

First, you NEVER put your unprocessed film in CHECKED luggage, since the new InVision CTX 5000 x-ray machines used to scan checked luggage WILL cause streaking.

Second, you ask for hand inspection of your film. In theory, this should not be a problem in the USA where according to FAA regulations, this is a right. In practice, I've found that cut sheet film can be problematic. Options are to come plenty of time in advance and discuss, bring a changing bag, or carry film boxes on you (without the foil wrappers which sometimes set the metal detector). There are some European airports where they insist on x-raying everything anyway.

Third, with a moderate amount of x-ray from MODERN machines (for CARRY-ON scanning), you shouldn't see a significant degradation. Howard Bond cites a 0.05 increase in the film-base+fog density of TMAX 400 after 10 x-rays, and no change after 4-6 x-rays.