Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

  1. #1

    Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    I have been given this lens a a basket case.. Somebody has totally dismantled the shutter..the lens front and back elements look ok.
    If I get a Copal 0 will the lens elements fit to it, and will they focus.
    I have seen Supermatic shutters on ebay, but they always seem to be faulty in some way.

  2. #2

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,950

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    The cells won't fit. Kodak's shutter standard doesn't match the Compur/Copal/Prontor/Seiko standard.

  3. #3

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    Thanks Dan. Thats a pity, I have been told that the 101mm Ektar is a nice lens. I guess I will have to find a Kodak shutter..

  4. #4
    IanG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Aegean (Turkey & UK)
    Posts
    2,913

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    There's a couple of reasonable Supermatics on Ebay at the moment, not sure if they are the right size though.

    The larger No 2 Supermatic used with the 203mm f7.7 Ektar is interchangeable with a Compur/Copal/Prontor/Epsilon 0#. Kodak used an Epsilon or Compur in the UK with the lens and a Supermatic in the US.

    Ian

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,855

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    You realise this is not a large format size?
    The 101mm is designed for 3x2" (+ a bit) and was used on the dwarf graflex, I think.

  6. #6

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    I have a Graflex Century Graphic 2x3 camera. I am currently using a Symmar S 5.6/100...but it would be nice to get the Ektar up and running, as I have a spare lens panel
    Both the Supermatic's on Ebay have faulty low speeds..

  7. #7
    IanG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Aegean (Turkey & UK)
    Posts
    2,913

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    The 101mm Ektar was also fitted in a Kodak Synchro-Rapid 800 shutter, this has no preview or T setting.

    Ian

  8. #8

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    Thanks for the info Ian... but that doesn't sound a very suitable set up for a View camera

  9. #9
    IanG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Aegean (Turkey & UK)
    Posts
    2,913

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    Quote Originally Posted by David Kanefsky View Post
    Thanks for the info Ian... but that doesn't sound a very suitable set up for a View camera
    Actually it was the shutter used on the 101mm Ektars sold with Century Graphics.

    There's a 101mm f4.5 Ektar for sale in the UK in a Compur 0 So I've just tried switching my 203mm f7.7 Ektar cells and they do fit the 101mm Ektar's Supermatic (as well as a Copal 0) and vice versa so they conform to the modern standard

    Ian
    Last edited by IanG; 28-Jan-2012 at 08:38. Reason: add

  10. #10

    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    4,950

    Re: Kodak Ektar 101mm f4.5 in a Supermatic no 1 shutter

    Quote Originally Posted by IanG View Post
    There's a couple of reasonable Supermatics on Ebay at the moment, not sure if they are the right size though.

    The larger No 2 Supermatic used with the 203mm f7.7 Ektar is interchangeable with a Compur/Copal/Prontor/Epsilon 0#. Kodak used an Epsilon or Compur in the UK with the lens and a Supermatic in the US.

    Ian
    I'm not sure that's right, Ian.

    I have 127/4.7 Ektars in, respectively, Rapax and Compur #1. The cells don't interchange between the shutters. I believe y'r UK 203/7.7 would be in a Compur #1, like one of my 127s.

Similar Threads

  1. Kodak No. 1 Supermatic Shutter
    By AllanWafkowski in forum Gear
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9-May-2010, 20:21
  2. KODAK Ektar 10 in. ILEX No. 4 Acme Synchro Shutter f6.3
    By styleshot in forum Cameras & Camera Accessories
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 5-Feb-2007, 17:43

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •