Thread: Charles P. Farmer Workshop

Charles P. Farmer Workshop

After reading testimonials regarding Large Format workshops on the internet, I chose a Charles P. Farmer workshop in Zion that ended last week. In appreciation for hearing feedback from others that helped me make my decision, here are a few thoughts on my experience.

First, a little about the skill level I started from. I had exposed approximately 10 images on two different cameras before taking this workshop, and had received my Toho 4x5 only days before I left for Zion. While I have done a lot of reading, and received some basic instruction from a few friends, I was still very uncertain and clumsy with the film and the camera. While this workshop revealed how much I yet have to learn about exposure, I was relatively comfortable with exposure as I have been shooting medium format for about 4 years. I shoot color transparency film.

Workshop Format The workshop was well designed. It balanced short lectures with morning and afternoon shoots in sites throughout Zion National Park. The evening programs were a combination of additional lectures on Creativity, a review of participant portfolios (feedback optional) and a look at some outstanding black and white work of Chuck and Dick Garrod (a student of Ansel Adams, and a friend and contemporary of Brett Weston). Early afternoon lectures addressed Optics, Camera Movements, and Logistics. The morning and mid-afternoon shooting, and the early afternoon and evening lecture schedule left little time for other activities (I was too tired each night to make it to the Driftwood Lodge hot tub). My one regret, is that I did not allow for a few additional days after the workshop to continue shooting in the Park.