Thread: Recessed lens board issue

Recessed lens board issue

Hello all

I am new to this great forum and generally to large format.

I have just picked up a 4x5 field camera with a super angulon 90mm f8

The board i have is recessed.

When i attache the lens the right way its hard to adjust the settings.

My question: Can i turn the lens board around (recessed side facing out) and use the lens this way?

Apologies if this sounds like a trivial or stupid question but I really dont know much about LF cameras.

Any help I would appreciate greatly!

Ganko

Re: Recessed lens board issue

hmmmm.... probably "no"

most boards aren't perfectly flat where they meet the camera, they usually have some sort of contour to match the camera and reversing would stop the board seating into place properly

then there's the issue of being a recessed board.

It's recessed to hold a wide angle lens, right? The lens itself will sit at the same place relative to the camera body, but putting it in a recessed board allows the front part of the camera to be further away from the camera body. That then means the bellows aren't as compressed and you can move the front around more.

If you reverse the orientation and have a "top hat" board the front of the camera will be closer to the camera when the lens is focussed. That's a good thing with a long focal length lens because it effectively gives you a little more bellows extension. But with a wide angle it means the bellows will be scrunched up and you won't be able to move the front of the camera around. In some cases you may not be able to get the lens close enough to the film to even focus.

forgot to ask the obvious question: what camera and lens do you have ?

if you say exactly what you have someone may be able to tell you whether the lens would be usable on the camera if you remounted it on an ordinary flat board...

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula