Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Understanding Soft Focus and Sharp fall-off

Understanding Soft Focus and Sharp fall-off

I just purchased a Calumet 8x10 camera and now I need to buy a lens. I'm new to film and new to large format so I'm reading as much as I can and filling in the gaps with posts to this forum.

I would like to do close up portraits (waist level and up) and I want a very sharp focus with very short depth of field and a sharp fall-off. Now, by this I mean that I would like to compose and setup a shot (indoors...in my home since I'm a hobbyist still) where I can have the subjects eyes in very sharp focus and have the hair, ears, neckline, etc quite noticeably out of focus.

I'm trying to select the right lens for this application (tight spaces, portrait lens, wide aperature on an 8x10). And obviously I would need a lens board so if I find a Copal #3 lens that suits my needs and budget then can I just buy any Copal #3 lens board and it will work with my camera? I'm still trying to navigate all of this. I'm doing more reading tonight.

Thanks in advance for anyone willling to help.
    Cheers,
    Eric

Re: Understanding Soft Focus and Sharp fall-off

most very short DOF lenses (f3) will not fit on the 6x6 lens board AND cover 8x10. do you have a reducing back to 5x7? if so you can easily get what you want.

if not keep an eye out for the many f4.5 lenses that will cover 8x10. they include heliar. a 360 would be perfect. there are others too. the various tessar lenses will work as well. many are f4.5

none of the above are "soft focus" but they will give you sharp centers with excellent fall off.

eddie
    My YouTube Channel has many interesting videos on Soft Focus Lenses and Wood Cameras. Check it out.

My YouTube videos
    oldstyleportraits.com
    photo.net gallery