Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: beginners question on copals

beginners question on copals

ok - sorry for the entry level question. i am brand new to film and LF

I have a copal 1 210mm sinaron s 5.4 lens.

i am looking for something wide - i think around a 90mm. if i buy something that is a different copal are the lenses interchangeable? I think i'll need a new lens board, but aside from that can i swap them out without adjusting?

thanks so much in advance

Re: beginners question on copals

No; Copal 1 is the shutter size (there's 00, 0, 1 and 3).
    If you want to swap lenses, best to try with lenses from the same size shutter, but that's no guarantee either, as spacing varies from lens to lens.

Quote Originally Posted by Ari View Post
    If you want to swap lenses, best to try with lenses from the same size shutter, but that's no guarantee either, as spacing varies from lens to lens.
    Thanks for the quick reply -

i assume most sell the lenses with the shutter correct? if that is the case what is the advantage to staying with a certain copal? do most keep them in their own lens board so they can just swap them out?

So if im looking for a 90mm lens do you recommend staying with copal 1?

thanks again

There is no advantage really to staying with a certain shutter size. Copal 0, 1 and 3 are shutter sizes of copal shutters. Compur shutters also come in those sizes, and more. Generally if you have a 210 mm lens mounted in a shutter, you leave it in the shutter, and your wide angle next lens will have its own shutter. Could be a copal 0, could be a copal 1; it doesn't matter. But you need a lens board to fit it, unless the two lenses have the same size shutter and you don't mind taking one lens off the board and putting the other on. Since lens boards are cheap, get a second board so you can quickly swap out lenses.

Far more modern lenses are sold in shutters than not, vintage lenses not so much.