Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Sales Tax Horror Stories

Sales Tax Horror Stories

If only it was Halloween.

I'm particularly interested in hearing your sales tax horror stories from being a part-time or semi-professional photographer, extra points for New Yorkers.

Picture Snappin' Fool Black Lightning's Avatar

Re: Sales Tax Horror Stories

Well, I am an accountant With a practice in New York. I don't have any horror stories of my own. Clients of mine, that's a different story. Sales tax problems are why many of my clients came to me in the first place. I have kept a few of them from going to jail.

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula

Sales tax in CA needs to be paid in terms of sales per county (tax rate can vary by county) - a major book keeping PIA when I had a business because we couldn't afford an accountant to do that for us. Other than that it was quite straight forward.

ny is done quarterly. you better get em done before the end of Dec.

what sucks the most about NY is that if you sell to some one in a different area you must collect that tax (just like brian says above). so if rochester tax is not 8% like it is here in ulster county then you would collect 8% from me as i am in UC. that is the PITA of it all.

if you collect less than $3000 (so $40,000 in sales) in one year you do not have to file quarterly....BUT you must file quarterly for teh 1st year....then you can file once per year after that.

hope this helps.

have fun with the tax man.

eddie
    My YouTube Channel has many interesting videos on Soft Focus Lenses and Wood Cameras. Check it out.

My YouTube videos
    oldstyleportraits.com
    photo.net gallery