Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: darkroom classes in the Atlanta area???

darkroom classes in the Atlanta area???

I have been processing my own film for several years and have been printing for a little over a year but I have taught myself and would probably improve if I could take a class somewhere in the metro Atlanta area.

Does anyone know if there is such a thing here.

funkadelic

Re: darkroom classes in the Atlanta area???

I'm not sure if she's on here, but if you're on APUG, look up user "Ann". She's on the north side of town and works (or did last I knew) for a school's photography department. They've got a decent darkroom setup. I think the school is a high school, but they've got the darkroom. Maybe they offer things outside the normal school year, or maybe she knows of others that may offer a similar setup for adults.

Quote Originally Posted by cdholden View Post
    I'm not sure if she's on here, but if you're on APUG, look up user "Ann". She's on the north side of town and works (or did last I knew) for a school's photography department. They've got a decent darkroom setup. I think the school is a high school, but they've got the darkroom. Maybe they offer things outside the normal school year, or maybe she knows of others that may offer a similar setup for adults.
    Ann Clancy is the individual you are referring too and the organization is the Spruill Center for the Arts.

http://www.spruillarts.org/

This is a community art center, which requires a membership to participate in the classes or pay an additional fee for class tuition. The education center is located in a former elementary school. Several years ago there were plans afoot to build a grand new education center but that seems to have fallen to the side.

For all practical purposes they are the only game in town for wet darkroom instruction.