Thread: Fraud--beware Shawn Cain aka @eBay "iwantstuff88"

Fraud--beware Shawn Cain aka @eBay "iwantstuff88"

LF colleagues, please beware of any offerings from Shawn Cain of Washington state, working eBay as "iwantstuff88."

I was defrauded of $134 by this thief. He has a large number of negative feedbacks in the last few months, apparently because of repeated defrauding of bidders. He cashed my postal MO; he screens telephone calls with his answering machine, does not return calls and does not respond to email. An email address which he uses is "stuffhunter50@hotmail.com."

Yes, I was a naive eBay newbie and did not check feedback before bidding. Still trying to graduate from the School of Hard Knocks, but I keep failing some courses and have to repeat them, it seems!

Beware, and spread the word. Thank you. Ciao for now....
    Peter Collins

On the intent of the First Amendment: The press was to serve the governed, not the governors --Opinion, Hugo Black, Judge, Supreme Court, 1971 re the "Pentagon Papers."

He or she is no longer registered as an ebay user.

Have you taken the steps from their fraud prevention program?

http://pages.ebay.com/help/community/fpp.html?ssPageName=STRK:SRVC:030

If it hasn't been more than 90 days, you can get all but $25 back if you follow the proper procedures. Of course, I don't know in practice how much hassle is involved filing a claim.

If he cashed a USPS money order and the transaction was conducted through the US mail then I would turn this over to the USPS authorities. I think that mail fraud is still a prosecutable offense.

I've been swindled only once on ebay. While the feedback was good, it was of questionable numbers, especially as a seller. I bit, and he knew he had a sucker on the line! After that, it was, "We've had a death in the family, and I had to leave town in a hurry!" Etc.