Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: any cheap tripod head for Sinar F2?

any cheap tripod head for Sinar F2?

I got an Sinar F2 today and I'm going to use 90mm and 150mm lens on it. But when I was about to mount it on the tripod, I found my tripod plate is too small for the F2. I have to buy another tripod head for it.

I'm a student so price is very important to me, I've been searching a bit via internet but still have no idea, is there any very economical choice? Ball or 3-way head are both ok and I don't mind buying second hand or older type, if the head can hold the F2 it'll be good enough.

Much appreciated.

Re: any cheap tripod head for Sinar F2?

You can, of course, simply forget the head and screw the camera onto the tripod. Not only is it lighter, but it's a lot more solid. You can rotate the camera rail for yaw, adjust the leg height for tilt, and rotate the tripod for pan. The only thing it isn't good for is extreme downward shots.

When you can, save up for the wonderful Sinar Pan-Tilt Head to use with your Sinar.

"adjust the leg height for tilt"
    And bump a leg accidently in this configuration and watch the whole thing fall over!

Thanks Frank, the tips is really inspiring me. I didn't realize I actually don't need a 3-way head because I can adjust the yaw with the rail and a pan-tilt head is good enough.

But I just tried it, the tripod mount is not big enough for the F2 base, That base is just so large and it's not a flat surface, the space between the screw hole and the outside rim is empty...

Bob, I think Frank means adjusting the leg of the F2 instead of the tripod leg.

Listen to Frank. Get a Sinar head as soon as you can afford one. They are not cheap but once you use one you will understand. I have seen them go for as little as $250 (if you can call that little).