Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A beginner B&W developer to Color?

A beginner B&W developer to Color?

I'm a beginner 4x5 Black & White film developer for roughly a year now and love it. However, I do want to do Color film at times, but don't like having to mail out the film only to get it back a week later along with the cost involved.

I got into developing B&W Film after hearing how easy it was. One person told me that "It's not rocket science..." So, I tried it and have been doing ever since.

But thinking about developing color has me concerned as I've heard nothing but Exact Temperatures, expensive chemicals, fumes, etc.

Do any of you do color development? in an apartment (like me.)
    Any tips and chemicals needed, expected cost/per negative/batch would be great.

-Robert
    RmFrase

Shen Hao TZ45IIb 4x5
    Horseman L45 4x5
    Canon 6D Mark II
    75mm, 90mm, 150mm, 210mm, 240mm
    Epson V700 Scanner

Re: A beginner B&W developer to Color?

Processing color is actually easier than b&w, the process and temp is always the same for all C-41 or all E-6 films, no matter the brand or speed. If you have necessary items for b&w you can develope color. All you really need is a way to maintain a constant temp for the chems. A large plastic bin works, as long as all the bottles and film tank fit in it.
    Rick Allen

Argentum Aevum

practicing Pastafarian