Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Lens recommendation for 4X5

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Lens recommendation for 4X5

Hello All,

I am new to large format photography and I have just ordered Tachihara 4X5.
    I am looking for few lenses for portraiture and landscape. I would appreciate if someone can recommend few lenses.

Thanks in advance.

Re: Lens recommendation for 4X5

Since you said portraiture and landscape, I would start with a 210mm. Get any one from the big four (Rodenstock, Schneider, Nikon, Fuji) used.

If you had not said portrait, I would have said start with a 150mm... Same advice on what kind.

Check the classifieds here and KEH.com. I would stay away from eBay until you know your way around LF a bit.

Thanks John.

I was also looking for 150mm. So you are suggesting 210 over 150 mm for portraits?

Thanks
    Girish

Quote Originally Posted by crowgraphy View Post
    Thanks John.

I was also looking for 150mm. So you are suggesting 210 over 150 mm for portraits?

Thanks
    Girish
    Yes, 210 makes a nice portrait length on 4x5. You can use a 150 with good effect for a more environmental style portrait. If your camera has the bellows to handle it, a 300mm will get you closer to a headshot.

But portraiture works a little differently in LF than in smaller formats. The 210 is a nice length.

Thanks John, appreciate it!

El Pueblo de Nuestra Señora la Reina de los Ángeles de Porciúncula

What John said.

I use a 150 and 135 nearly interchangably. The 300 is really good for head-and-shoulders.

Quote Originally Posted by BrianShaw View Post
    What John said.

I use a 150 and 135 nearly interchangably. The 300 is really good for head-and-shoulders.