Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What has gone wrong?

What has gone wrong?

I wondered if anyone can suggest or perhaps explain what has gone wrong with the photo below? I know it is a focus / depth of field issue, but I am new to Large Format and am trying to understand why the depth of field is so shallow or how to correct it.

The photo was taken at f22 and the primary point of focus was on the plant at the bottom right. I did not use tilt (the camera I am using, a mark 7 MPP, only has back tilt unless it is rotated onto it's side). I had wnated everything, or as much as possible, to be in focus.

On the large version that I have scanned the bush / plant at the bottom right is in focus, but towards the middle it is slightly out of focus and well out of focus towards the back. The distance from the bottom to the middle is only, say, 6 - 12 feet.

Is it due to the appeture used, the failure to use tilt, or focussing at the incorrect point of focus (should I have focussed past the plant and more at the hyperfocal point)? Or is it all of the above?

It is probably a daft question, but I am trying to understand what I did wrong to avoid repeating it again.

Thanks for any help or suggestions anyone can provide.

Octogenarian

Re: What has gone wrong?

All of the above.

Read this, it should be helpful—

http://www.largeformatphotography.in...-to-focus.html

Richard Wasserman

https://www.rwasserman.com/

Why didn't you want to use the rear tilt? I generally prefer rear tilt to front for landscapes. It causes some distortion of shapes but this shows in closer objects appearing slightly larger, which is usually a beneficial effect in landscapes.

I am with Gem, but to be precise, you could easily do the shot at f32.5 and use front tilt and no back tilt....at least I could. But you would not be placing focus right on the Bush. George or otherwise, they don't like being the center of attention
    "Great things are accomplished by talented people who believe they will