Thread: Print Quality Via 4X5 transparency /Scanned/Photoshop/Digital Printed

Print Quality Via 4X5 transparency /Scanned/Photoshop/Digital Printed

I've read that scanning a 4X5 transparency with a 2400X2400 scanner, manipulatin g the image with Photoshop, and printing on a high quality printer yields excell ent results. As a beginner, I wonder never have seen examples of this kind of w ork, does the final print somehow lack the "analog" realism that is achieved thr ough the normal contact print or traditionally enlarged print? Is something diff erent about it? Or as I hope, it is indistinguishable, from the traditional enla rgement technique?

Thanks to all who may answer-this is a terrific forum

If you have a gallery nearby, you may be able to judge the results for yourself. Any photos identified as "Lightjet" prints have been digitally printed.

as i've mentioned on this forum a few times, in my experience, the digital prints i have had made from my CTs are FAR superior to conventional prints made directly from the CTs. i admit that the lab i use for my professional work has absolutely top-of-the-line equipment, and they are extremely good at it, but i would say there isnt even a close comparison in either sharpness or in color balance - the digital prints are just extraordinary, even when viewed with a 10X loupe.

"Or as I hope, it is indistinguishable, from the traditional enlargement technique?"