Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Epson V700 + BetterScanning help

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Jersey, USA
    Posts
    15

    Epson V700 + BetterScanning help

    I recently got a BetterScanning mounting station with ANR glass for dry mount scan. I tried it for the first time last night on my V700, but couldn't get any image. I follow the mounting procedure on BetterScanning website, but the scanned image is always black. I wonder if anybody using BetterScanning holder got this problem before and could offer some information. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts USA
    Posts
    6,490

    Re: Epson V700 + BetterScanning help

    Do you have the holder oriented correctly ? Like the original Epson holders and guides, it "communicates" with the scanner by shapes at the corners. (That's why the Epson holders have little symbols on them, telling you which way they need to be oriented.)

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Washington, DC
    Posts
    47

    Re: Epson V700 + BetterScanning help

    Alex,

    Are you using Epson Scan? My quick thoughts are: 1 (the obvious): check to make sure you have the software set to transparency - weird things happen otherwise. 2 (not totally obvious): Make sure you have the scanning station oriented so that the cutout on the outside of the short side (i.e. the top) is aligned on the hinge-end of the scanner bed. The software will do weird stuff if the scanning station is mounted the other way around. It will do weird things if anything covers that area of the bed in fact.

    Chris
    -------------------------
    Linhof Technika III-5
    Mamiya RB67

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    618

    Re: Epson V700 + BetterScanning help

    This is a really dumb question -
    Did you remove the pad that's on the top portion of the scanner that's used
    for reflective scans ?

    I did that recently, forgot to take it off, got black scans.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    North Jersey, USA
    Posts
    15

    Re: Epson V700 + BetterScanning help

    I did remove the pad on the top scanner, as I mostly use it to scan negatives. From the replies, I guess it's the wrong orientation problem since I only try it in one orientation last night. I will try again tonight. Thanks for all the suggestions.

Similar Threads

  1. Test scan of 4x5 RR-bridge on Epson V700
    By dh003i in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17-Nov-2009, 16:50
  2. Replacement for Epson V700 Scanner
    By warmtone in forum Digital Processing
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-Sep-2009, 07:29
  3. Input please. Epson v700 photo or Microtek ArtixScan M1
    By CTSELLAS in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-Mar-2008, 15:36
  4. Epson v700 and Newton Rings
    By 55chevy in forum Digital Hardware
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 11-Feb-2008, 15:48

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •