Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What's your best/worst/most embarrassing LF experience?

What's your best/worst/most embarrassing LF experience?

Since I'm new to large format I'd like to hear about your favorite, least favori te, or most embarrassing experience involving large-format photography.

Did you publish a book? Did you forget to calculate the bellows-extension facto r for an important client (a nightmare of mine)? Did you trip over your tripod and fall in the lake?

If it's an unusual experience in large-format photography, then I want to hear i t. Thanks!

Myself and a friend went out shooting in the mountains (my first trip out with my Calumet 45N). I didn't have a proper pack for the camera, nor did I have proper prorection for the camera back. I ended up breaking the ground glass. But this wasn't the embarassing moment.

I went to the local camera store and picked up a new ground glass (which was fairly pricey). Took it home, ground down the edges to get it to fit properly, and screwed it into the back. I inserted the back into the camera, and locked it in. I then took the bellows, and moved the switch on the back standard to insert the bellows. But, stupid me, I moved the switch the wrong way.

Damn back with the new glass fell out of the back of the camera, and smashed into the monorail, breaking the glass. I didn't even get a chance to take ONE shot with the glass.

The worst moment? Going back to the camera store and getting another glass. And yes, it was from the same person. I also bought a glass protector the same time.

An expensive lesson. But relatively funny. Now.

Cheers!

-klm.