Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Basics of 4x5 B&W development

Basics of 4x5 B&W development

Hi There.

I just bought my first 4x5 camera, an Orbit rail system.

I have some limited experience with MF 120 black and white development with D-76 and Diafine. I would not call myself an expert, but I do well with these developers for my purposes.

I am curious if someone can provide me some links to some information on learning to develop 4x5 sheet film. I would prefer if I could develop it in daylight (similar to 120 in tank) if possible as I don't really have a darkroom. I saw the Yankee systems at B&H, but they all have bad reviews. I was hoping to find something a little more reliable to use.

Thanks!

E.

Re: Basics of 4x5 B&W development

I just started about 3 months ago now doing 4x5 and so I started my own film developing. I use BTZS tubes exclusively for b&w and c-41 color development, and the results have been pretty good! I use a small guest bathroom at my apartment to do all my developing. Personally I would look at buying (or making) a set of these and have at it. But I am no expert either

Quote Originally Posted by Corran View Post
    I just started about 3 months ago now doing 4x5 and so I started my own film developing. I use BTZS tubes exclusively for b&w and c-41 color development, and the results have been pretty good! I use a small guest bathroom at my apartment to do all my developing. Personally I would look at buying (or making) a set of these and have at it. But I am no expert either
    That stuff is awesome. The tubes is a genius idea. I wonder if I could make my own out of PVC and plumbing caps.

I'd suggest beginning with the LF forum homepage, if you haven't already....

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/

There's a section on developing...with a good amount of reliable information...

(I personally stick with trays and tanks for 4x5 - only using daylight tanks for smaller formats)

Cheers,
    Dan