Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 8x10 for a beginner

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

8x10 for a beginner

Hi, I am new to large format photography. I would love to get myself an 8x10" camera. I can not afford a new camera, so I am considering my options in used market. As I also love collecting photography gear I have looked at the old plate cameras. I understand they are very difficult to adapt to the modern film sizes. I have an idea and would like to know if it would work.
    I buy a good whole plate camera and carefully take off the rear board. Get an 8x10 film holder and make a new wooden rear board that could be installed instead of the original. I would also need to get new bellows, I guess. If and when I want to change my camera, I can always return it to its original state.
    Has anyone done it? would it be easier and cheaper than just building the 8x10 from scratch (I doubt I could build the whole thing)? It would be used mainly for portraits and occasional landscape.
    Regards
    Ed

Re: 8x10 for a beginner

Ed, Consider the Kodak 2D 8X10. A very forgiving and stable old camera that has enough room to install a 6 1/2" square Packard shutter inside the camera. The 6X6" lens boards are ample for just about any old dinosaur of a lens you can drag home, and the Packard is inside waiting. 30" bellows lends itself to portraiture with old fast glass. About 80% of the images on my web pages are made with one of these.

Or, you might like an 8x10 Ansco.
    They were designed with a built-in sliding extending rail, it adds a little weight, but it can't get lost.
    Real cameras are measured in inches...
    Not pixels.

www.photocollective.org

I gotta say I love my Calumet C1 and I didn't find it expensive. Fits in my backpack too!
    My website Flickr
    "There is little or no ‘reality’ in the blacks, grays and whites of either the informational or expressive black-and-white image" -Ansel Adams