Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on light meter for outdoor and indoor use.

Opinions on light meter for outdoor and indoor use.

Hello to everyone,
    My name is Przemek. I'm new to this forum and this being my first post.
    I'm using medium format film camera for now but I've been thinking for some time to try large format as I'm very tempted by its image qualities as well as by slow image making process itself.

Right now I'd like to ask You for opinion on light meter. I've been using for several years Gossen Digipro F but often find my self missing spot metering, especially while shooting outdoor. Because I often need to carry all of my equipment on my back I'd prefer to have only one meter that do both incident and spot. I've been thinking on two meters: Gossen Starlite 2 and Sekonic L-758 D. I was unable to find any in deep comparison or review of this two meters just some posts here and there. I think these two meters are overkill for me with all functions, modes, advanced flash metering, etc. But I don't know any simple light meter that will both incident and 1 spot.

From usability point of view I'd prefer to stick with Gossen because I've been using Gossen for several years now and I suppose the interface should be some how similar. Starlite 2 is also smaller and lighter then Sekonic.

Because I've no experience with any of this two meters and I've never used any other 1 spot meter I'd appreciate very much Your opinions and suggestions.

Thank You.

Re: Opinions on light meter for outdoor and indoor use.

Przemek,
    If you're already familiar with the equipment you have, and know how to use it well, why not keep using it?
    A light meter is a light meter, whether you're using MF or LF; it's all about the photographer's ability to use it properly, and interpret the given readings to suit his tastes.