Thread: What is Burke & James history

What is Burke & James history

I am interested in the history of the Burke & James Photographic Co of Chicago I llinois. They made and marketed many different cameras, and I am interested in the availability dates of those cameras.

Dear Bill, Sadly I cannot really answer your question but if you can take a look at the March/April 1995 edition of View Camera there was an interesting article by a chap called Patrick Alt about refurbishing View Cameras and he mentions Burke and James in his words " truly a diamond in the rough" cameras made in Chicago in 4X5, 5X7,8X10,11X14 and 8X20 formats etc etc.......he also writs of many other cameras of the type......sorry I cannot help further Robert

I'm no expert on Burke and James so someone can correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe Burke and James was the name of a large retail photography store (yes, there really did used to be such things) in Chicago. The store didn't manufacture the cameras. Instead, they farmed out the manufacture and then put the Burke and James name on them, like Calumet does today with the Caltar series of lenses and Calumet cameras. I don't know what company actually did the manufacturing, probably there was more than one manufacturer since the store had a long life. AFAIK the cameras were available until the store went out of business. I forget exactly when that was, perhaps the 1970s?
    Brian Ellis
    Before you criticize someone, walk a mile in their shoes. That way when you do criticize them you'll be
    a mile away and you'll have their shoes.

No expert here either, although I do own an nice B&J 8x10, if you look on EBay, old Burke and James catalogs sometimes show up, they might be a source of further information. good luck.