Thread: V700 scanning

V700 scanning

I love my V700 scanner ... does an excellent job with 4x5. I was told that there was no point in using Digital ice with black and white negatives -- and that it can actually do reverse damage to the final output. So I ran a scan yesterday .. and seemed to be ok.

It has been a few years since I did any 4x5 scanning, and I am surprised with hand-developed negatives how much scratch removal I have to do in photoshop.

Re: V700 scanning

I have scanned very few 4x5s, but I have found that the Digital ICE messes up the black and white shots that I have taken on 35mm and 120. I wonder if large format is different due to the thicker, more resilient negative.

I've been using it for a couple of months and haven't noticed any issues with 4x5 or medium format negatives. I don't do 35mm though.

David
    David Aimone Photography
    Critiques always welcome...

Digital ICE relies on using the Infra Red channel. With color films, the film and dyes are transparent to IR, while dirt is not. The software detects the difference and interpolates to fill the gaps. Apparently, the method is less effective with B&W.

I'd be more interested in knowing why you have so many scratches. How do you process your negatives?

I've had very good experiences with the V750, although I do have to religiously clean the scanner platen if I don't want to spend all day spotting for dust. No surprise there. I don't use ICE.

Quote Originally Posted by lxdesign View Post
    ...I was told that there was no point in using Digital ICE with black and white negatives...
    Digital ICE is supposed to be a “no-no” w/ b/w film – but it sounds like your personal results are satisfactory.

Epson Scan, if that’s what you’re using, also offers a “Dust Removal” option for b/w film, even if its results are not as good (or so Epson says).

Your comments made me go back to my Epson reference guide, which lists the document types supported by Dust Removal & Digital ICE: