Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New to the Forum; New to a Crown Graphic; and in need of advice.

New to the Forum; New to a Crown Graphic; and in need of advice.

Hello. I'm new to LFP and the new owner of a Crown Graphic. Lots to learn.

My camera seems to have two problems. One is that it's missing the piece that enables the body-mounted shutter release to actuate the lens board mounted release. Can anyone give me a suggestion about where I might be able to find this piece or who can do a repair.

The second issue is bigger deal to me. I intentionally bought a top-mounted rangefinder Crown with the intention of using it at least part of the time to do some hand-held shooting. My camera seems to have a non-functioning optical rangefinder. The focus patch circle does not move when I adjust focus using the knobs and rack. I have not yet tried the light beam rangefinder, but I assume it's also not working. I am all thumbs and am not interested in opening up the rangefinder and dismantling it myself. If it's a simple repair, I'll try it, but I'm not equipped to tear it down myself and rebuild it.

SO, if any of you experienced hands, old pros and otherwise well-informed Crown Graphic folks have any suggestions, including the name of a good and inexpensive repair person, I'd be much obliged. Some folks at RFF have suggested that my camera is missing a cam, but I suspect the problem is more complicated. Rather than guessing, I figured I'd come to the source. I'm in NJ and understand that Essex Camera might still work on Graflex cameras.

The fellow from whom I bought this on eBay seems to have lots of integrity as he's offered to take it back (and even pay the freight both ways). However, as the camera appears to be very clean apart from these two issues, I'd hope I can get it working for not too much extra money.