Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    117

    Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

    Has anybody used an Arca-Swiss C1 Cube?

    1- What is your opinion of it?

    2- What quick release plate should I get for my Sinar P2?

    I called B&H, and they weren't sure which one was for the Sinar P2.

  2. #2
    lazy retired bum
    Join Date
    Sep 1998
    Location
    Lake Oswego, Oregon
    Posts
    264

    Re: Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

    Have you done a search? There are many comments both here and on the getDPI forums. Good luck.

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    New Berlin, Wi
    Posts
    1,348

    Re: Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

    I have been using one since it was available in th U.S. and it is almost the best photography thing I own..Evan Clarke
    Last edited by evan clarke; 18-Mar-2011 at 10:16.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Besanšon, France
    Posts
    1,493

    Re: Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

    2- What quick release plate should I get for my Sinar P2?

    Hello from France !
    You need something strong, hence my choice would be a Classic series dovetail Arca Swiss plate that you can screw under your camera (whichever brand ).
    I'm not sure that you could directly screw a 1/4" thread under a Sinar P2 ; most probably a 3/8" is something available.

    Hence : Ref#802210 : a Classic dovetail plate with 3/8 screw, size 80 mm x 60 mm.
    A 1/4"-to-3/8" insert could do the job but best is to use the good ol' 3/8" thread that was supposed to become THE standard after a famous Photographic Congress in 18XX (??)

    I've once watched with surprise students screwing-on a whole 4x5" Sinar Norma by turning the whole camera on the 3/8" thread of their tripod head !
    They still have to discover what a quick-relesae plate is made for

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Palo Alto, CA, USA
    Posts
    272

    Re: Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

    The Sinar rail clamp has a base nearly 3" in diameter. You need a plate which will extend completely across it. A 3" (min) square or hex plate would probably be ideal. Your rail clamp is probably threaded for a 3/8" tripod attach screw (my recently acquired P has a bushing).

    I use a Photo Clam clone of the Arca Cube (wtih a Canham MQC). It is a very nice design. I think it will work for the Sinar.

    Jeff Keller

  6. #6
    Wally Wally's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    211

    Re: Arca-Swiss C1 Cube

    The price has plummeted. It used to be $2200-$2500. Now B&H has it for $1695.

    Close enough to the clone's price that I'll get the real deal (when I have saved enough).

Similar Threads

  1. Arca Swiss Cube head?
    By Tori Nelson in forum Gear
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 19-Apr-2010, 16:11
  2. Arca Swiss C1 Cube
    By Mark_5974 in forum Gear
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 7-Jan-2006, 22:57
  3. Did anyone get the Arca Swiss C1 Cube?
    By David Payumo in forum Gear
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13-Dec-2001, 11:36

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •