Thread: Did something go wrong ?

Did something go wrong ?

Newbie here -- getting started in LF I ran some 100Tmax thru a Speed Graph camera and was only somewhat happy with the results. At the same I shot the LF I also shot some medium format and small format 100Tmax with various cameras. As I am "new again" to film my plan is to use small format as a learning platform for getting exposure right etc

All the film was developed by a local lab. I am concerned about two things. All the negatives are bright -- looking overexposed to me. It would be understandable (to me) if the LF was overexposed but the small format was done on a camera with built in auto exposure (which I used in this case). The second question is about the amount of "dust" or "holes" in the film. If you look at the sky area of the shot it looks horrible -- at lot worse than dealing with dust spots on a digital sensor.

I am attaching two versions of the same shot -- one (the brighter one) is un processed -- the second one had adjustments made in PS. Both come from a 35mm negative scanned in a Nikon Coolscan V using vuescan.

I appreciate any thoughts or insights you might be able to share -- hoping to learn from the masters around here.

Re: Did something go wrong ?

Well, I don't think you will ever get your exposures correct by shooting with one camera, then simply using that as a measure for another camera. You will have to experiment with each camera, lens, exposure meter, film, and development.

In other words, 35mm TMax 100 shot in your Nikon will not help you much in figuring your exposures for 120 TMax 100 shot in your Rolleiflex or your 4X5 TMax 100 shot in your Crown Graflex....and from my experience, lab processing "usually" will not be nearly as consistent and proper as if you took the time to experiment and adjust your development times doing the processing your self.

Dust? Blame it on the lab.

As for your exposures...it's hard to tell without the negative in front of me.