Thread: architecture lenses 4x5

architecture lenses 4x5

I am very new to LF photography and have recently bought an entry level monorail Cambo. I am interested in Architecture and am wondering what type of lens would be most useful to a beginner like myself. Any feed back would be very much appreciated including hints and tips.

Many Many thanks
    Paul

Re: architecture lenses 4x5

One of the f 4,5 90mm would be a good starting point!

Cheers Armin

Architecture usually involves a front rise, so a major concern is the diameter of the image circle for whatever lens you consider. This information is published for modern lenses and available on the internet, but may be more difficult to find for older lenses.

Unfortunately, architecture also usually requires wide angle coverage, i.e. a short focal length, and short FL lenses typically have small image circles

As a practical example, in 120mm lenses:
    The Rodenstock Sironar-N 120/5.6 has an image circle of 175mm, permitting only a 7.7mm shift on the 5" axis of 4x5 film, while
    the Nikon Nikkor SW 120/8 has an image circle of 312mm, permitting a shift of 84mm.

As with all things in this world, there are trade-offs, and you must consider all factors before making a decision.

- Leigh

Octogenarian

If I was given the choice of only one lens, it would be the Nikon/Nikkor f8 120SW.

If I could choose a second lens to match up with the 120SW, it would be the Nikon/Nikkor f5.6 180W.

A fantastic pair of lenses for 4x5 architectural photography.

Some good advice above.