Thread: Digital darkroom

Digital darkroom

I am a newcomer to LF (4x5) altough I have been photographing and processing my own film on and off for about 10 years. Has the state of the art progressed to t he point where a photographer can duplicate the work on a computer that he would have done in a conventional darkroom? If this is not true today how long before it will be true? I am thinking of making a considerable investment in a darkroo m (conventional or digital?) and I am not up to speed on the digital aspect. What is required and how much it will cost. Thanks Jack Leonard

Digital darkroom

Hi Jack:

Check out West Coast Imaging ( http://www.westcoastimaging.com ). They are doing this, and have some helpful articles on the process.

Rich

Digital darkroom

As posed, a difficult question to answer. Your question begs more questions!

What type of equipment are you using in the conventional darkroom? What are your skill levels in the conventional darkroom?

A very good operator in a conventional darkroom will produce a finer product than a mediocre operator using a computer, just as a very good computer operator, using good equipment, will produce a better product than a mediocre conventional darkroom operator.

No matter what the people who would sell you digital equipment say, digital is not "plug and play"! Snapshots, yes. Fine quality, no.

Digital darkroom

Oh come on Barry. Digital is too plug and play. You plug your $70,000 scanner into your $5,000 computer, then play with your $5,000 densitometer to create ColorSync profiles for your scanner and your $250,000 printer. After all that, if you're good enough, you can get better results than you can with a $10,000 home darkroom. At least for color. Black and white? Well, it looks good on my monitor, but I haven't tried any of the new alternative print processes yet. I've heard good things about Iris Giclee printers, but the output is pretty expensive.