Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Stupid question about lenses, vignetting, groundglass illumination

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Stupid question about lenses, vignetting, groundglass illumination

Hi guys,

I'm new to LF and just got a 8x10 LF camera and a 240 Sironar-S lens.

Today, for the first time, I looked at the groundglass with the lens and saw that the image is well illuminated only in the center. At the edges it gets quite dark.

Everything was set up correclty, no movements such as rise or fill, I realize that I don't have too much room with the 240 ...

When shooting a sheet of 8x10 film, how come the image will be well lit overall whereas on the groundglass only the center is really getting much light?

Is there a difference between what one sees on a groundglass in terms of vignetting than what one will get on film?

I know this might be an easy answer, but I'm new to this kind of photography, i.e. working on a groundglass ...

Kind regards

Paul

Re: Stupid question about lenses, vignetting, groundglass illumination

Paul -

Welcome to the crazy world of LF.

A 240mm lens is a wide angle in 8x10 - the diagonal of the 8x10 image frame is 12.8 inches, so the 'ideal' normal lens would be 325mm.

There is always light loss at the edges of the image frame - even in 35mm. Remember the inverse-square law - light loses intensity as the distance between image (source) and film increases. With LF, this is more of an issue, and it's not uncommon for there the image in the ground glass to be dimmer at the edges of the frame. That's something that we deal with by using a dark cloth, and simply by sucking it up and living with it.