Thread: Dust on AZO

Dust on AZO

I have been really getting into table top work doing various flowers with 8x10 u sing an all black background. I am still somewhat new to LF but the results have been the best so far. I couldn't be any more pleased with them after stumbling around for a couple years and then finally coming up with a repeatable system. O n AZO developed in Michael Smith's amidol formula these prints just glow. The do wnside is that after I dry them there is a dust that is actually attached to the face of the paper that is stuck there. I tried a very, very soft bristle brush but no good..doesn't come off. When I increased the pressure it scratches the pa per. The black background really shows the dust. I dry them on fiberglass screen s that I meticuously washed and rinsed. I don't have a "level 5" clean room in m y house but have tried different areas and still that #$%@# dust!! It is really frustrating after a very long often discouraging journey to have finally arrived at a point to where things are actually working on a repeatable basis only to h ave a problem like this. I really like the black background but the dust...arrgg ghhhhh. Can anyone please help me? Thank you in advance fer any info.

Dust on AZO

michael you might want to try waxing or sealing the surface of the print. minor white taught me to use a wax the print surface which usually remove the dust that embeds itself in the gelatin surface and also protects the print surface from scratches. minor used to use blue coral car wax available at most cadillac dealers. also an alternative might be to add a bit of hardner to your fixer which should harden the emulsion more so that you can get the dust out. th

Dust on AZO

Make sure you dry your prints face down on your nylon drying screens. That should do it.

Dust on AZO