Thread: New LF user (Cambo SC2)

New LF user (Cambo SC2)

Hi guys

I'm new to LFF. I recently bought a complete Cambo SC2 in box + 3 filmholders+le ns plate (for 150mm?) for what I though was a bargain (250 euro (say $230). So I decide to try it out and see if I like it and if it is really that good compare d to my 80's Leica R. Now I need a lens for it, do you have any recommendations on what to buy/start w ith?

Also someone suggested to me to use a polaroid back because it will provide both a possitive and negative. Is that correct? Ofcourse I will use some other metho de to make a final print. Might be Palladium or maybe digital (can I scan a 4x5 neg on a flatbed scanner (any tips)).

thanks Reinier

New LF user (Cambo SC2)

Reinier, Polaroid makes T-55 iso 50 pos/neg film, also T-51HC pos/neg film iso 640. check the Polaroid web site

Bill

All metric sizes to 24x30 Ole Tjugen's Avatar

New LF user (Cambo SC2)

Congratulations, and welcome to the world of LF!

The Cambo is, AFAIK, quite a bargain at 250 euro. Whether it's as good or better than your 80's Leica - well, that depends on the lens you get. Lens boards for LF cameras don't come for specific lenses, but for different shutter sizes. Most modern 150mm lenses ("normal" for 4x5) come in #0 Copal shutters, which have M32.5x0.5 thread. Older lenses can be mounted in lots of different shutters - while #0, #1 and #3 are fairly standardized, there's always a new old size to be found... The biggest I've seen is a #5 shutter, which has M87.5x0.7 threads!

I suggest you start with a basic, good quality lens somewhere in the 135-210mm range. Don't be afraid to buy used, the newest lens I have was made in 1957 and it's still excellent. After all, the Tessar construction originated in the 1890's!