Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Basic Lenses

Basic Lenses

I am looking to purchase a large format and i am having problems choosing a lens . i am a graduate student, so money is far and few and i'm looking for a relati vely inexpensive lens with a standard shutter. the requirements f/5.6 min and a bove f/32 (i thought all large format lenses went up to f/64, apparently, i am m istaken). i just plan on going 4x5 for that is what i used as an undergrad and have a sense of familiarity with it -- if figure, if i must, i can go to 8x10 an d keep the lens just getting an Emmett Gowin look My other question: what is standard? the one i used as an undergrad was 210mm but i have also seen 135 an d 150 considered as standard, please, suggestions, comments and any other info w ould be greatly appreciated. thanks!

Basic Lenses

Ally: What do you most want to take large format photos of? You'll get much better answers if you let people know that up front.

Basic Lenses

i mostly do self portraits, but i don't know where my work is going, i'm in a slump. i don't work with studio lighting (ugh) and i would like to do more outdoor work.

Basic Lenses