Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Building a 12 in x 12 in camera

Building a 12 in x 12 in camera

I'd like to build a 12in x 12in camera and I prefer to work in color. I know I'l l probably have to make my own film holders. Who produces color film in this siz e or will consider special orders ( I'm an amateur not a pro )?

If anyone else had a yearning to build such a camera, how would you proceed?

Larry,

Step 1 would be to order film.

I think you'll have a hard time getting color (chrome or print) film in this size. If Kodak, Agfa or Fuji would accept the special order, be prepared to morgage the house and to change one of your rooms into a fridge to stock the truckload of film. Anyway you need at least some very deep pockets.

I recently exchanged a few emails with someone that wanted to buy Ilford 11x14 FP4+ B&W film: he was told that the minimal order was 30 boxes, I believe it summed up to about $5000,--.

http://hv.greenspun.com/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg.tcl?msg_id=008nK3

TROLL!

"Wednesday, May 15, 2002, 7:56 a.m.

"Hi. This is the qmail-send program at greenspun.com. I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses. This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<lfloyd@wb.xerox.com>:

"Sorry, I couldn't find any host named wb.xerox.com. (#5.1.2)"

Don't post if you're not willing to use a working e-mail address!

Fuji supposedly make CDU E6 duping film in large sizes, but don't distribute it worldwide. It's slow, tungsten balance, and you have to fiddle to get the colour balance right, but it does exist.

The closest standard format to 12x12 would be the european 30x40 cm. CDU is the only colour film I have ever heard of in this size. Various B+W and graphics arts films are available if you can live with B+W or are prepared to do tri-colour work.