Thread: Petzval Lens Advice

Petzval Lens Advice

I am new to petzval lenses. I have a project in mind that would benefit from the classic 'petzval effect'. For the project, I want maximum ‘swirliness’ (is that even a word?) for the out-of-focus areas. Most of my images will be made of subjects ~30 feet in front of me, outdoors. I will use a 5x7 KB Canham camera with film. Most of the images will only have little to moderate movements. I would expect that petzval lenses that cover considerably more than 5x7 will have a sharper center and not as much swirly bokeh until the image reaches the edges of the coverage, and for this reason I am thinking I want a petzval lens that just covers 5x7 with a little bit of movement allowed at subject-to-film distances of 20 to 40 feet and wide-open aperatures. In addition, I want to do long exposures, so I will need a method of adding ND filtration either at the front, back, or waterhouse stop area of the lens. How does one gauge or rate the ‘swirliness’ of a petzval lens? Thoughts on the petzval lens category or design that would best fit my particular needs?

Any advice here appreciated ... apologies if this has already been covered ... please point me to earlier posts. THANKS!

neophyte

Re: Petzval Lens Advice

As I understand it the petzval design created a sharp image but had the problem of only having a fairly small coverage (22deg IIRC) for this sharp area; the swirl is in the areas outside of this. So essentially if you had a petzval good for an 11x14 and popped in a 5x7 you will likely see very little swirl. So, yes you do indeed want a lens that will just cover the 5x7 (or half plate).
    Depending on the barrel the lens is in it might have a front or rear thread, you could get or make a push on adaptor (this can be as simple as a large step up ring with gaffer tape); if it has a slot for stops you could use a gel ND in the slot (it will likely be too big for a glass filter)