Thread: Fresnel lens placement

Fresnel lens placement

I am new to the large format photography and I have a question regarding the placement of the fresnel lens. In the instructions it says to place the fresnel lens in front of the focusing screen. Is the front of the focusing screen the side that is closes to the lens or the side closes to the photographer? Thanks for your help!

Fresnel lens placement

What type of camera are you using? Ron Wisner makes a compelling argument in an article on his website for placing the Fresnel, ridges towards the inside of the camera, against the smooth side of the ground glass, for optimum optical performance. But the fact remains that many older cameras, including those using the fairly standard Graflok back, are designed to focus properly with the Fresnel on the inside of the camera, ridges towards the etched side of the ground glass. You don't want to tamper with this arrangement, unless you use some sort of shim of the right thickness to take the place of the Fresnel, otherwise you won't be focusing on the same plane as your film. A quick way to figure which way things work on your camera is to measure from the inside of the camera back to the ground glass, then put in a film holder, pull the dark slide (no film necessary!) and take the same measurement again. Ideally, the distances should be the same. If inverting the order of the Fresnel and ground glass makes it work, you have your answer. In any event, the ridged side of the Fresnel always faces the ground glass, and obviously the etched side of the ground glass faces the inside (front) of the camera.

Fresnel lens placement