Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hello from Colorado

Hello from Colorado

I just stumbled across this forum while looking for feedback on using PMK with some specific films.

I am a 1987 RIT grad who got away from photography as a profession a couple years ago. Maybe someone will relate, but all those years in commercial photography had caused me to absolutely hate it. Now I am thinking about shooting ONLY for my own appreciation again. I have a nicely equipped, large darkroom, but right now I am planning to only shoot and develop B&W negs (Maybe some transparencies. We'll see.) scan them and go digital from there out.

I have a great Cambo Master PC, which has been used, maybe, twice, in the last 5 or 6 years, and a pretty extensive set of lenses from 58mm to 360mm. Also a Bronica SQ-A outfit with 8 lenses from 40mm to 250mm. They are both outstanding cameras I would love to use again.

Just thought I'd say hello.

Re: Hello from Colorado

Welcome, John! This is a great forum with lots of very helpful people. My first LF camera was a 4x5 Cambo. Still have it, but prefer working in 8x10.

Large Format Rocks ImSoNegative's Avatar

Hi John and welcome to the forum, I can relate to what you said, i used to paint and draw for my own enjoyment, someone suggested i begin to teach classes and put my work on display, so i did, i soon began to get comissions, my classes were full, my paintings and drawings were selling fairly well, i was making money but when my passion turned into a profession it wasnt fun anymore to me it was about making money so it started getting boring i sooned began to hate it, that was 8 years ago and i havnt picked up a paint brush since. I love photography, i might sell a piece here and there but use the money to buy gear or film or whatever, that keeps it fun. Im a chef by trade, (i hate cooking, go figure) but photography is my passion and i dont want to ruin that. good luck and again welcome