Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommendations for compact lighting kit?

Recommendations for compact lighting kit?

Hello group,

I am thinking about a portable lighting purchase. I am shooting mostly architec tural photographs, and I have done it up to this point with available light, bec ause I am intrested in the accurate rendering of the building's lighting system (I'm a commercial lighting designer.)

I am thinking about starting to find some clients for my architectural photograp hy, and I recognize that I need to be able to add light to the architecture in s ituations where the client is not as concerned about 'lighting accuracy' as I te nd to be.

I am looking for a few suggestions on lighting that will be suitable for field u se. My inital thought is to get a basic two-head strobe setup and some accessor ies to make a decent starter system.

Once I have a decent idea of some suitable systems, I will go to NYC (about a 1/ 2 day's travel) and try out some of them, to see which one will suite my needs.

Any suggestions? McGrath's book recommends the Balcar Starlite and Dynalite as t wo possibilities.

Thanks,

---Michael

Michael, I use Dynalites 1000x packs and love them. They are very small and light but very powerful. I have 2 1000x packs, 1 2000 pack and six blower heads. I recommend the blower heads especially if you plan on using softboxes! I usually end up just bringing out the 1000's and 4 heads for most of my work. Hope this helps. Go to http:// www.dynalite.com/ and take a look. Cheers, Scott

I myslef prefer using monolights. I have 6 old Photogenic PL600 (600ws each), 4 PL750 (300ws each), and 3 PL375 (150ws each). Even with this many heads, though, its not unusual to have to do multiple pops. But I find that the monolights, though they are heavier than the heads used with powerpacks are (at least to me) much more versatile.