Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How do you scan?

How do you scan?

I'm relatively new to large format, having recently begun using a Chamonix 45n-1. Took it and lots of film on a recent trip to Morocco and Scotland, and now have a significant amount of film to scan.

I've searched and searched, but can't find a thread where people document how they scan their large format negs/transparencies. I have an Epson V750, which I plan to use with Vuescan. I could also use also use Silverlight Ai, but I've been using VueScan with my Nikon 5000 for a while. The problem is there are so many variables in scanning.

So, my question: How do you scan? What software do you use? What resolution do you scan 4x5 at (assuming file storage is not a consideration)? What is your scanning process? Any specific settings you've found that lead to better results? And, most importantly, why have you made the decisions you've made with respect to your scanning process?

Know this could be too in-depth of a question, but thought I'd throw it out there...to help me and others that follow.

Cheers, and happy shooting!

Jeff

Re: How do you scan?

Find the ideal height to suspend the negative over the scanner. It can range from 0-3mm (or so) above the glass.

If you're shooting BW, find out which channel gives the best results. It'll probably be the green channel. If so, you can set Vuescan to make the BW image from the green channel.

Make sure to scan in 16-bit per channel mode.

Scanning above 2400 spi will probably not give any useful info with your scanner, but check for yourself.

Make sure not to clip any data.

I prefer not to sharpen in the scanning software, but others do so.

I use different equipment and software then you do, and my exact workflow won't be useful for you. Maybe those with your scanner and software can be more specific.
    “You often feel tired, not because you've done too much, but because you've done too little of what sparks a light in you.”