Thread: Any problems with using a lens for 8x10 on 4x5

Any problems with using a lens for 8x10 on 4x5

I am very new to large format and have a Speed Graphic with 127mm Extar lens. I am looking for a lens about 240mm to start to round out the system. As I may m ove to 8x10 at some time I was thinking about considering a lens for an 8x10 and using them on the 4x5 as well. Is there any problem doing this, such as the ex tra large image circle reflecting aroaund the camera and washing out the image?

What lenses would you recommend for between 200 and 250mm for my 4x5 camera?

240 G-Claron, 240 Fujinon A, 250 Fujinon W f 6.7.

" Is there any problem doing this, such as the extra large image circle reflecting aroaund the camera and washing out the image?

That is more dependent on camera design than lens properties, like a very large image circle.

Larry,

You're exactly right about the large image circle. I tried the same thing you're doing several years ago and purchased a non-red dot Artar, 14-inch to use as a portrait lens on my 4x5 Wisner.

The images I got were very acceptable for portraits, but were noticably softer than images I got with my Symmars and Fujinons. Naturally, since this was the non-red dot version and I got it in a working shutter for $200 at a camera trade show, I assumed the softness was due to inferior coatings.

A year or so later I purchased a used Deardorff 8x10. My first images with the same lens on the Deardorff were eye-piercing sharp, amazingly crisp and generally, well, wonderful.

I realized that the larger image circle was the culprit and did some testing wit h a compendium lens shade (to block off light outside the part of the image circle acutally falling on the film) and it made a huge difference. Now, properl y shaded, my 4x5 images are as good with this lens an on 8x10.

Hope this helps.