Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Wooden Field camera + 150mm. Tight budget!

Wooden Field camera + 150mm. Tight budget!

Hi,

The past year I've borrowed a Toyo 45A from school and got used to the process rather quickly and find myself grabbing the Toyo more often then my 6x7 camera (MF).
    Now when I graduated I will start studying for a BFA in the fall. The sad thing is that they only have a monorail camera. I've used a Horseman and a Sinar a couple of times but I prefer a more lightweight field camera.

Now I'm in great need of buying my own! I'm not that into the technical part (wich brand, the sharpest lens etc.). I only know how to work it, don't know how to buy it. To buy a great equipment is easy if you have a pair of goldpants, but my budget is tight as hell! I'm a poor Swedish student and will probably have about $750 to spend on a camera after this summer (this must also cover the shipping costs to Sweden)... Therefore I hope you guys could give me som help where and what to buy. Right now I'm only looking on Ebay untill I get access to the "For Sale/Wanted" section on this forum.

I'm looking for a lightweight wooden field camera with a 150/5.6 lens. I'm not that into all this crazy movements where the camera looks like an angry cobra. Sometimes I have to straighten up some lines, but that's about it. The Toyo has served me well. But now I want wood. Toyo is great, but uggly!

ps. excuse my bad English...

Best Regards
    Peter Josefsson

Re: Wooden Field camera + 150mm. Tight budget!

hej dĺlig fotograf,

My Swedish is probably worse than your English. But I understand you perfectly. Here's a few thoughts for you:

Camera: Crown Graphic press camera (the case really is wood) - Ebay average price $150 - $200 USD. IMHO don't pay more than $200 - Always many for sale at Ebay. Usually a 135mm Schneider included in that price. Some movements. Folds up easily. Not too heavy. As basic as 4x5 can get.

Or . . .