Thread: Where can i show my work?

Where can i show my work?

as a youyng british artist i am completly self financed and under apreciated! (h a ha ) i am trying to make just the smalest ripple of recognition for myself but i want to start in the us! i have a huge portfolio and many peices still in pro gress all my work is B&W and finished on glass, wood, stone or metal. The smalle st peices are post card size ranging all the way up to the largest (H 6'x W 8'x L 4') 3d sculpted photos. if any one knows of a galery of any kind that might be intrested! or of any starting point what so ever i would be eternaly greatfull! N.S.Clarke

first thing is to organize your work into some basic themes, or portfolios, that provide some type of cohesive connection between the pieces. gallery directors and museum curators do not want to see a wide variety of disconnected pieces of work. the first time i naively went to show my work to a gallery director, i took a couple fo my best nudes, some portraits, street shots, still lifes, etc, to show him how broad my talent was :-) he was, shall we say, underwhelmed. he flipped through my stack of carefully mounted prints in about 30 seconds, told me i had a couple of okay things in there, and told me i needed to pick out the one or two shots i thought most exhibited what i wanted to say with my work, and go develop them into a specific portfolio, explore the theme and concept, and come back and see him in a year. i did exactly that - and came back to see him a year later with a portfolio of street shots and a portfolio of moody architectural interiors. he took more time looking at the work this time, and concluded by telling me he would show either portfolio, and that's how i got my first one-man exhibition.