Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: What's the best deal in scanner-land with no compromises in quality?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

What's the best deal in scanner-land with no compromises in quality?

Hi guys!

Since I'm relatively new to this LF-world, I have not much knowledge about the myriad scanners out there. Hence, I have a question regarding the best price-quality-ratio around:

If no significant compromises in quality are to be made - what is the highest quality, highest resolution scanner available at comparatively good price? Also taking into consideration second-hand deals on ebay for example!

Secondly, what is the highest resolution one can get out of this such a scanner out of a 4 x 5 and 8 x 10 negative, respectively?

Like 20000 x 14000 pixels for an 8 x 10?

Thirdly, I read somewhere something about a high-end ICG 370 HS scanner; how much does such one cost and is it good?

Thank you for your pointers.

Regards

Paul

Re: What's the best deal in scanner-land with no compromises in quality?

After years of testing , head scratching and serious doubt about which unit to buy. I have decided to buy a Aztec Drum Scanner from Lenny.

My criteria for this decision as follows

NAmerican supplier * no offence to other locations, just more conveineint for me.
    On site traning- Lenny
    Current models in production.
    On going advice and support - Lenny
    Scans as good or better than all the devices I have tested over the last few years.
    Current hardware and software.
    Ability to lease through our broker.
    My clients will like the fact I have current technology for drum scanning their work.
    Ability to batch process and walk away to do other lab duties .

Downside is cost
    Lenny being on the West Coast, as is the manufacturer

This will take me awhile to put all my pennies in place but I believe for my company it is the best choice.