Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Lens Education of the Noob

The Lens Education of the Noob

OK - I've been following several threads for some time. I'm still learning as I go. I've noticed a certain trend for "classic" older lenses. You lens aficionados out there, you know who you are

I've read these discussions of:

voigtlander's, Pinkham & Smith, Dallmeyer, Cooke, Anastigmat's, Goerz, Tessar's and
    Petzval's, Wollensak’s.

OK Help a noob out. What's the attraction? Why select one of these lenses versus a Symmar, or a Rodagon, Fujinon versus a Nikkor, or Sironar, etc.

Is it IQ, or something else? I'm still trying to decipher the lingo.

Re: The Lens Education of the Noob

I think a few articles on my site may help:

Go to http://www.antiquecameras.net

and read "Soft Focus Lenses"

"Soft Focus Lenses 2" and "Petzval Lens"

These lenses all have "character" that you wont find in modern lenses... its akin to driving a classic car...

Dan

Antique & Classic Camera Blog
    www.antiquecameras.net/blog.html

A lot of the time it depends on what you find in a length you want at a good price at any given time! I stole a 215mm Ilex f/4.8 convertible off of eBay thinking it would do in that focal length until I got something better...turns out that I love that lens...sharp, fast, and convertible! It is a little big, but I can live with that!

Dan is right, all the lenses have their own "character", rendering things just a little tonally differently, with more or less inherent contrast, sharpness (of softness), bokeh, etc. You just have to play around with various lenses 'till you find out what you like! And when you get one you don't particularly like, sell it and try something else.

"Is it IQ, or something else? I'm still trying to decipher the lingo."

"A lot of the time it depends on what you find in a length you want at a good price at any given time!"

Some times it's nationalist pride: American, German, English, French, ect...