Page 1 of 17 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Chamonix 045N-2: A Newbie's Review

Chamonix 045N-2: A Newbie's Review

Introduction:
    The second generation Chamonix 4x5 cameras started shipping about two weeks ago. Being a new owner, I thought it would appropriate for me to share my initial impressions.

First of all, not only am I a new owner, I admit it...I am a large format newbie. Despite several decades using 35mm film cameras, I successfully resisted the larger formats until just a few weeks ago. Through a series of small events, the seed was planted, the market research was initiated, and the purchase was made. My initial criteria were:
    • 4x5
    • Compact and portable
    • Well-made
    • Reasonable array of movements
    • Ease of use
    • Support for short focal length lenses
    • Graflok back
    • Support for 120 roll film holders
    • Pretty

Yes, pretty! If I am going to spend good money, the camera should at least LOOK good! The Chamonix 045N-2 satisfies all of my requirements and is good looking, in a technical way, as well. Before continuing to the rest of the review, I must state that much has been published on the Web regarding version 1 of the 045N. I will not attempt to duplicate those reviews or material readily available at the Chamonix Web site. If you are interested in technical specifications, the published specs and camera description may be found here:

In the Box:
    • Camera with "Universal" bellows
    • Padded cloth wrap with velcro fasteners
    • Ground glass focus screen with fresnel
    • Carbon fiber ground glass protector

Description:
    The 045N-2 is a lightweight 4x5 field camera based on the Phillips design. Basic features may be summarized as follows:
    • Extensive use of carbon fiber composite material in the base plate and elsewhere for rigidity and weight savings
    • Nicely crafted hardwood (teak initially and maple in the future) and machined aluminum used in the remainder of the camera