Thread: Spotting vignetting and cut off groundglass corners

Spotting vignetting and cut off groundglass corners

I'm new to large format photography and I've been shooting to learn, setting mys elf little problems to be solved by camera movements. Yesterday I developed some negatives and found my first case of vignetting due to a front rise that went t oo far and cut off the upper corners of the frame. Trouble is that my groundglas s, like many as I understand it, is cut off at the corners. How are you supposed to be able to check vignetting if you run out of ground glass to see it with? I did read somewhere about peering through the corner gap and looking at the lens opening to check vignetting, but I don't know what I'm looking for if I do so. Can someone help?

If the edge that you see through the corner is curved, you are looking at the rim of the lens, and this will result in vignetting of your image. If you are seeing no edge at all, you should get a good image.

The groud-glass corners are cut so you can prevent vignetting. The procedure is to compose the image and execute your movements. Then, peer through the corners (usually the bottom two only, as most vignetting movements will be rises) - if you can see the lens opening, you are half-way there (if you cannot see the opening, you care fully vignetted, and need a serious correction).

If you can see the lens opening, pay attention to the shape - if it is a full circle, then there will be no vingetting. If, however, part of the opening is obscured by the rim of the lens (or the bellows, as sometimes happens) then you need to ease off on the movement until you can see the entire opening - then there is no vignetting. A quick practice run with this will give you the idea, and if yuo always remeber to check this way, you will not have the problem again.