Thread: UV light and PD/PT

UV light and PD/PT

OK, I'm a novice here, but have been recently intrigued by the PD/PT process, an d as usual my mind, or what's left of it after the 70's, started wondering why a n enlarger couldn't be used to produce larger prints off a 4x5 neg. That's when I came across the quote below in a previous thread.

"the optics in an enlarger lens are not designed for UV light, which is the rang e of wavelengths that these mixtures are sensitive to. So, you would need to sea rch out some highly specialized enlarging lenses that will focus UV wavelengths (and not absorb or reflect them, as most optical glass tends to do.)"

OK, I didn't know enlarger lenses or heat absorbing glass absorbed UV light, and if it's true then I'm at the preverbial end of the line, but if it's possibly n ot totally correct, might it be possible? I'm using an old Bessler 4x5 with a co oling fan. Thoughts.

UV light and PD/PT

Check Ctein's site - I believe that I read in his book that the El Nikkors transmit (focused) light deeper into the U.V. frequencies that the other lenses. Other than that you may look on the Glenview site for a quartz lens. The older the lens the better I would suspect the U.V. transmission would be (as a very general rule), since they wouldn't have the exotic glasses and coatings to filter it out - doesn't mean there wouldn't be a focus shift however.

UV light and PD/PT

Wayne,

There's a reason that there is nobody out there doing enlargements onto pt/pd. I would be surprised if you were able figure out anything to make it plausable.

Here's why:

1. UV light is a problem for optics, unless they are specifically designed for it. There is a lens out there (called a "Gotar" if I remember correctly) that is spefically made for UV light, so that might solve the UV optics problem.