Thread: Making prints

Making prints

I have been shooting 4x5 for a few months and getting some good negatives recently. I have started trying to make some good enlargements and failing miserably. Can someone explain why a negative I scan into the computer looks good on the screen, but when I use the enlarger to make a print the colors are all crazy (the blacks are much more brown)? I shot a test strip before making the print and found the proper aperture and exposure. Do I need to use the filters (cyan, magenta, and yellow) on the enlarger? If so, how will they effect the final print?
    Thanks in advance for your help. I couldn't figure all this out on my own.

Re: Making prints

Are you printing colour or b&w negatives?

If you're printing black and white, are you using multigrade paper?

If your enlarger head is a colour one, you can can set the Cyan, Magenta and Yellow dials to add the same filtration that multigrade 0 to 5 filters would give when slotted beneath the light of an ordinary enlarger.

If you have a scanner, could you post one of your prints? Is the print poor quality or do you simply not like the tone of black? The tone from brown to black is dictated mostly by the paper you are using, to some degree by the developer, and of course a toner if you use one.

The filters you mention are for adjusting contrast which will not affect tone.

You should include some details about your workflow such as film, paper, developer, +/- toner, enlarger light source/filtration, etc. to get the best feedback.

Sorry, I am using arista vc glossy paper to enlarge b & w negatives (arista iso 100) on a color enlarger(I think. It has the three (c,y,m) filters so I assume that means color. ) to be honest, I don't know what kind of chemicals i am using other than the brand is arista (i saw a bottle under one of the counters) because I use a community dark room.