Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Graphlex lens problems and replacement options

Graphlex lens problems and replacement options

I am just starting out in LF format photography. I purchased a used Graflex (I think it's a Pacemaker Speed Graphic but it's shutter stops at 400) and a Combi-Plan (with HC110) and loaded my first holders last night with Tri-X. I'm very excited to get to using it.

I bought the Graflex on eBay where the owner claimed the shutter was firing at the correct speeds. It is a 135mm Optar f/4.7. Naively taking his word I didn't test it's accuracy. I am now realizing I fear the shutter is much slower than it's supposed to be. I don't have a tester, but at "1" it's almost 2 seconds. At "2" it's about 1.5. I did this using a stop watch so I'm really not accurate.

I'm not finding much information regarding these lenses. And I really don't know how to properly test or fix it. If it's not correct is the lens useless?

What are my options if I have any?

Also, what sort of replacements are available for this camera? Thanks so much for your help.

Re: Graphlex lens problems and replacement options

Underexpose a little, or just use the 'box speed' of your film. Go out and take pictures and I wouldn't worry too much about it.

Run the shutter through the speeds, it may speed up some. But if it does not, it is no big deal using B&W.

You can replace the lens with a large number of different lenses. I replaced my old lens with a newer model 135mm symmar which is just small enough to let the camera fold up. You can use longer lenses up to just under 300 mm (it depends on the specific lens design) and shorter lenses - but will have to be a bit careful using anything shorter than 90mm or so. You can also use lenses without shutters because your camera has a focal plane shutter. There are too many possible lenses to list.

If you switch from the lens you have you will need to adjust the rangefinder to match the new lens - if you want to use the rangefinder.