Thread: Hi's from Japan

Hi's from Japan

My name is Ghanem AL Romaithi. I started D-SLR in 2007, but now I kind of went the other way. I own Canon EOS 5D, 5D Mark II, 1V, 1Ds Mark III. Kowa 6. and now I am planing to buy Ebony Camera either the 4x5 or 5X7. I joined to seek help on deciding which model to buy, and hopefully learn from others. I am new to Large format. Any kind of things I should be concern about?

Thanks,a

Re: Hi's from Japan

Welcome to group therepy. The 5x7 format is one I've always liked...great aspect ratio and much like the 35mm's which I have used a lot, but the 4x5 has one big advantage: availability of film. 4x5 film is made in many more emulsions than any other sheet size and is much more likely to be found in a camera store (yeah, I know we all usually order it) in a pinch than any other sheet film size. Maybe the ideal situation for you would be an Ebony 5x7 with an extra back in 4x5??? Only a little more weight to carry around! Good luck...shoot lots!

Welcome. I agree with Vick: Buy a 5x7 with a 4x5 reduction back. It depends on, of course, what aspect ratio you prefer - more rectangular like a 5x7 or more square like the 4x5. Ebony makes beautiful cameras.

Quote Originally Posted by Vick Vickery View Post
    Welcome to group therepy. The 5x7 format is one I've always liked...great aspect ratio and much like the 35mm's which I have used a lot, but the 4x5 has one big advantage: availability of film. 4x5 film is made in many more emulsions than any other sheet size and is much more likely to be found in a camera store (yeah, I know we all usually order it) in a pinch than any other sheet film size. Maybe the ideal situation for you would be an Ebony 5x7 with an extra back in 4x5??? Only a little more weight to carry around! Good luck...shoot lots!