Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Anyone shoot color and convert to BW digitally?

Anyone shoot color and convert to BW digitally?

I'm new to LF. I like to shoot 35mm color film and DSLR and convert it to BW digitally using the techniques described in the book "Advanced Digital Black and White Photography" by John Beardsworth. An advantage of producing BW this way is that you can effectively apply color filters in post processing interactively.

Does anyone do this in large format? If so what film do you use?

...Mike

hacker extraordinaire

Re: Anyone shoot color and convert to BW digitally?

I don't do it in large format because large format color chemistry is so expensive, but I do it a lot with smaller formats. I shoot color slide film in the camera and make a B&W internegative onto pan film. You can indeed apply color filters at this stage if you want. I get very nice prints this way; in many ways they are 'better' than using B&W film in the camera.

Yeah if you are in a Photoshop and inkjet workflow why not? The only hassle is the added expense of color film. Color neg makes a lot more sense to shoot and scan, I like Kodak Portra NC 400 and 160 ISO. Longer range, more forgiving....

I've started to do the conversion from 35mm transparencies to B&W using PS then inkjet printing. But only with material that I've found unsuitable for color printing using Inkjet or Ilfochrome. For me, so far, it amounts to a salvage job for older 35 mm chromes when I want a print for documentary purposes. Often slides that are too monochromatic or that are what would be called "snapshots". No 4X5 conversions yet since I shoot originals in both transparencies and B&W.

Nate Potter, Austin TX.

This is the way I plan to do it. But don't tell my buddies on APUG.

Quote Originally Posted by Mike1234 View Post
    This is the way I plan to do it. But don't tell my buddies on APUG.
    Well C.B. they will discover your duplicitous ways sooner or later.

Don Bryant