Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginners Advice.

Red face Beginners Advice.

Hi, what is the cheapest & easiest setup, to get started in processing my own 4x5 & 120 E6 film ? The Only darkroom experience i have is loading film. Right now i am paying my local Lab (The only lab that does E6 in my area) $7 (AUD) per sheet. I was hoping someone could head me in the right direction.

Thanks - Rupa

Re: Beginners Advice.

I'm not sure there's a lot of choice in E6 home developing, but I'm not an expert. Tetenal makes 3-bath E6 kits. Do realize it is a very critical process, you really have to keep the temperatures perfect or you'll get less then lovely side affects... I would perhaps suggest getting familiar with black and white processing first, just so you have the basic knowledge of developing.
    But perhaps that isn't neccesary, I'm not sure. I only develop E6 myself when it's cine film, and I always find that no matter how perfect I thought I did it, there's always a flaw somewhere in the process.

Bite the bullet and pay the $7.
    I did my own processing for years (when I was in school) and can guarantee you that it's a PITA. Also, unless you do a large volume of work, the chemicals will go bad too quickly and it will end up costing you more than taking it to the lab.
    Wilhelm (Sarasota)

Andi Heuser

How is it to do own C41 process?

sanchi

E6 was the first thing I developed when I picked film back up a couple years ago.

I used the Kodak chemical kit made lots of mistakes and it still worked out okay and cost a lot less than $7 per sheet.

Temp control, specifically for the first developer is the biggie but very doable, a microwave and a tub of hot water helps here.

A dark bag, a "daylight" tank kit (for each film size in your case), and 7 jugs/jars to match the tank for the chemicals.